FEMA’s Special Flood Hazard Area

Floods are the #1 natural disaster in the U.S., according to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), which administers the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). Within the Special Flood Hazard Area (SFHA) - any Zone "A" or "V" on a NFIP flood map - there is a 1% annual chance of flooding at or above the expected 100-year flood level. A federally backed mortgage in the SFHA requires flood insurance and state law requires its disclosure on sale.

In this episode:

  • The Special Flood Hazard Area
  • Flood insurance requirement in SFHA
  • Insurance is for the building
  • Disclosure is for the parcel

Why is this important?

  • A home in this high-risk flood zone may be required to have flood insurance by a lender. It's important for a buyer to know about the potential additional cost up front.
  • Disclosure to a buyer is required under state law if a property is in this zone.
  • County or city General Plan Safety Element may provide maps of additional flood hazards.
  • This disclosure is included in First American NHD and JCP-LGS disclosure reports.
  • If a property is in a Special Flood Hazard Area, our report includes a FEMA Flood Determination Certificate showing if the structure is in the flood zone (no additional charge).
  • Need a flood map for your lender on one of our reports? Just give us a call!

This website uses cookies and similar technologies to manage your sessions, manage content, and improve your website experience. To learn more about these technologies, your options, and about other categories of personal information we collect through this website and how we may use it, please see our privacy policy.