'NHD 101' The Fundamentals

Maybe you've noticed. California tends to do things differently than other states. You see it in the state's culture, commerce and economy. In the world of real estate, California is unique for its attention to property hazard disclosure. That's because the state has suffered some of the worst natural disasters in the nation's history - earthquakes, floods, fires - and we've learned a thing or two about protecting real estate consumers.

In this episode:

  • The "Natural Hazard Disclosure Law"
  • California's "Big Six" hazard disclosures
  • The "NHD Statement"
  • City/County General Plan Hazard Zones

Why is this important?

  • The seller's agent, or a seller who is selling a property without an agent, must disclose state-mandated natural hazards to a buyer.
  • The NHD industry is unregulated, so it's important to choose a disclosure company with a long history of success, like FA NHD and JCP-LGS.
  • The state-mandated natural hazard zones, along with county or city hazard zones in the General Plan, are included in First American NHD and JCP-LGS disclosure reports, providing comprehensive disclosure.
  • Order the report at the time of listing or offer so the buyer has this information early on. No charge until escrow closes.

This website uses cookies and similar technologies to manage your sessions, manage content, and improve your website experience. To learn more about these technologies, your options, and about other categories of personal information we collect through this website and how we may use it, please see our privacy policy.